About SMU Dedman School of Law

Welcome to SMU Dedman School of Law

The School of Law at SMU was established in February 1925. Highlighting the celebration of its 75th year, SMU School of Law was named Dedman School of Law in 2001 in honor of Dallas benefactors Nancy and Robert H. Dedman, Sr., and their family.  With more than 15,000 graduates, SMU Dedman School of Law has a national and international reputation of training prominent lawyers in both law and business.  The Dean of the law school is JENNIFER M. COLLINSJudge James Noel Dean and Professor of Law. Dean Collins joined SMU Dedman School of Law in July 2014.

We continue to provide our students with the best possible education and help them secure outstanding employment outcomes upon graduation.
  • The SMU Law faculty is recognized throughout the region, nation, and even internationally for its contributions to the law. 
  • We have innovative ways for our students to gain practical legal experience in areas that complement our curricular strengths, including business and corporate law, international law, intellectual property, energy law, and family law and advocacy.
  • Dedman School of Law publishes five law journals and has ten legal clinics and projects serving diverse community needs with free or low-cost legal service. Pro bono legal service is a requirement for graduation.
  • The Underwood Law Library houses the largest private law collection in the Southwest.
  • Prominent Alumni SMU law graduates include Texas Supreme Court justices, members of the U.S. Congress, an ambassador, a governor, foreign ministers and members of the highest courts worldwide, as well as partners at leading law firms and general counsels at major corporations.

As the first law school in Dallas, we are fortunate to be in a city with a thriving economy, many corporate headquarters and an outstanding legal community. SMU Dedman School of Law continues to strive to develop the next century of leaders.

SMU celebrated the centennial of its founding in 1911 and its opening in 1915. SMU was founded by what is now The United Methodist Church, in partnership with civic leaders, and was shaped by the entrepreneurial spirit of the region. The University is nonsectarian in its teaching and committed to academic freedom and open inquiry. 
- Default Text -